Author Topic: Skins  (Read 2231 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline _AH_Toccs

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
Skins
« on: November 03, 2009, 01:24:38 PM »
Well, maybe someone here has a definitive answer.  Does skinning an aircraft cost a frame rate hit? I have heard that skins do in fact cost vid resources, and have shied away from skins.

What say ye, o official AH geek squad? Am I off kilter on this?

Offline _AH_Twisted

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Twisted in many ways
Re: Skins
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 03:07:11 PM »
I personally haven't noticed a difference Toccs. That is to also say it couldn't happen. I've used default skins on missions and dogfight rooms. It really doesn't seem to make a difference.

I would say your frame rates are effected more by map objects and AAA.

~S~

Offline _AH_BBQhead

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4750
  • What does that even mean, Wang?
    • Aces High
Re: Skins
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 03:07:39 PM »
S~.  I've never noticed any difference in frames  using a custom skin. 

   

At that awkward age where your brain has gone from " Probably shouldn't say that" to
"What the hell, let's see what happens"?  Me too.

Online _AH_DarkWolf

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7205
Re: Skins
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 10:35:06 PM »
I don't think it would make a difference either. If it's a default skin, a custom skin or even the void. A skin is a skin is a skin. They are all 1mb, 8-bit image files.

DW


"In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Good Will" - Winston S. Churchill

Offline _AH_Gonzo

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Consider all AI's as enemy!
    • ACES HIGH VIRTUAL FIGHTER SQUADRON
Re: Skins
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 11:31:34 PM »
I concur. The transfer rate of skins within the game is very slow so as not to detract from connection speed. In fact, the only time you will feel a hit from a skin is when it is fully downloaded to your game's skin's "Net Cache" folder and loads it for the first time while a mission is in session. This minor hit (Lasts for about a heart beat) only happens if you happen to be in very close proximity to the aircraft whose skin has just been downloaded. When we used to fly formation in High Aces, a new skin loading would cause nothing more than a small stutter and caused no issues in maintaining a tight formation even with lots of other mission stuff going on.


"I wish I was who I was when I wanted to be what I am today" - Jimi Hendrix

Offline _AH_Toccs

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
Re: Skins
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2009, 01:25:04 PM »
Well I was totally wrong on that one, but that's good news.  Gonna bombard DW with skin requests!