Author Topic: New Old Computer  (Read 2754 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline _AH_Duff4r

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
  • Tweak until ya Break it!
New Old Computer
« on: August 14, 2012, 12:39:31 AM »
Hiyas,

Was going to build new but got handed a little used Gateway Quad core and 8 Gigs of RAM.

I haven't done my research...looking for some quick answers :-)

Questions:

What version of 64 bit Windows 7 should I get and where to buy it?

It has a NVIDIA Geforce GT120 Vid card, I am assuming that's crap what's a reasonable replacement?

Is 32Gigs of RAM overkill?

Any I going to die 3 deaths getting my CH Pro USB stuff to work?

Other suggestions?

S!

Duff

* Somehow, I'll bet I would have been better to build from scratch...Oh well, Free is good! The persons that had this are into tablets and laptops...



Offline _AH_Jack

  • Yellow Man
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2996
Re: New Old Computer
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 07:57:14 PM »
I use Windows 7 Professional & got it via Pricewatch   http://www.pricewatch.com/software_oper_system/           My system runs 8 gigs of RAM & there are no issues when running multiple applications or running IL2 with TrackIR and the CH software.   I think 8 gigs is more than enough.  For video, I'm using an ASUS Nvidia GeForce GTS 250 &  am quite happy with it's performance.  I got the video card through Tiger Direct with a rebate.  There are newer & cheaper cards out there now. 
I'm running CH Control Manager v 4.51 & it runs nicely in Windows 7 64.


Offline _AH_Autorotate

  • El Capitán
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1966
  • i'd rather be autorotating.
Re: New Old Computer
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 10:19:40 PM »
i agree with jack there, but one thing i'd say is except dont skimp on a vid card. this game still uses an old and unoptimized video processing method. so i'd go with a video card with at least with the power of a 250 no less, and as he said prices have come down a lot so it shouldnt be hard to score a decent one for a good deal..

also with the new 22nm cpus out now (if youre going with intel i assume) the older 32nm's have droped alot in price and there are some fine and solid quads out there up for grabs.


Offline _AH_Duff4r

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
  • Tweak until ya Break it!
Re: New Old Computer
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 05:36:49 AM »
Excellent...thanks a ton guys :)

Da Duff!

Offline _AH_z5o

  • Calendar Monkey
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3338
Re: New Old Computer
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2012, 06:09:16 PM »
hmm
Normal is an illusion. What is normal for the spider is chaos for the fly.

Offline _AH_Tbull

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 222
Re: New Old Computer
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2012, 09:02:08 PM »
I picked up Win 7 from Amazon. I think I paid $100.00 bucks for it. Worked for me, I went with the Win 7 profesional also so I could run the 32 & 64 bit. Good luck mate.

Offline _AH_Corona

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 231
  • Weeeeeeee!
Re: New Old Computer
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2012, 10:27:49 AM »
Ive got a 560ti 1g with 8150 8core 3.6 and 8 gig of ram. Im going reinstall when i get my new sata 6.
Captain Wild Bill Kelso: War nerves? Who said war nerves?

Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell, no!

Offline _AH_Duff4r

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1263
  • Tweak until ya Break it!
Re: New Old Computer
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2012, 02:51:02 AM »
Thanks for all the info.....

Things are going good....so far. No issues with Vista Home premium actually...I am tweaking the Holy bageezus out of it.

Controllers installed. I ordered an NVDIA GT 440 (FERMI) DDR5, 1 Gig Vid Card as this box only has a 400w PS. If this doesn't work then it will replace the wife's aging machine and I will build new.

Thanks,
S!
Duff