Author Topic: Max settings?  (Read 4352 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline _AH_Col._Hogan

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3814
  • S.A.P.P.
Max settings?
« on: September 18, 2016, 07:11:37 PM »
What are the max available values for the following settings?

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Offline _AH_DarkWolf

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7310
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2016, 09:07:45 PM »
I think you are already there with the exception of Forest= which can be set to 3.

DW


"In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Good Will" - Winston S. Churchill

Offline _AH_DarkWolf

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7310
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2016, 09:19:57 PM »
Oops, I lied, Effects= can also go up to 2.

DW


"In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Good Will" - Winston S. Churchill

Offline _AH_DarkWolf

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7310
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2016, 09:37:07 PM »
Having said that, Effects=2 is not recommended as it can be buggy.

DW


"In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Good Will" - Winston S. Churchill

Offline _AH_Col._Hogan

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3814
  • S.A.P.P.
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2016, 10:12:38 PM »
how?

Offline _AH_Nimble

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1604
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2016, 08:07:57 AM »
Now thats a nice little buggy :surprised-027:

Offline _AH_taldrg

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3555
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2016, 07:27:51 PM »
~S~
   Can't drive to Wal-mart in it.
I love my country..It's the government I'm afraid of.

Offline _AH_DarkWolf

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7310
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2016, 11:44:24 PM »
We were talking the other day about the Forest= setting. Setting it to 3 makes the trees look better, more rounded and they are animated so they appear to sway in the wind.


This is Forest=2




This is Forest=3




Normally with these settings the higher you go, the more of a framerate hit you take. But strangely enough I've actually found slightly better performance with the higher forest setting, particularly on maps like those Slovakia ones which sometimes get a little nasty on the frames. Anyways, its something to try and see if it benefits you or not.

As usual make sure you edit the Forest= entry in the proper area of the conf.ini, DirectX or OpenGL, depending on what you are using.

DW


"In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Good Will" - Winston S. Churchill

Offline _AH_Lippy

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2016, 12:36:50 AM »
Tanks DW

Offline _AH_Gator

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2016, 01:21:15 AM »
S! Guys hey DW what size video card I have a 8500 GT and it set on 3 and it don't look like that :drinking-29:

Offline _AH_DarkWolf

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7310
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2016, 02:14:58 AM »
Are you sure you are setting Forest=3 in the right section? The setting is in the both the [Render_DirectX] and [Render_OpenGL]. Try setting it to 3 in both sections and see if it makes a difference.

DW


"In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Good Will" - Winston S. Churchill

Offline _AH_DarkWolf

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7310
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2016, 10:16:43 PM »
About the Forest= setting we were discussing above, we had some guys blowing up for no reason in the new campaign warmup room I made and after some trial and error I've found there are trees in those spots. On the Westfront 1944 and Westfront Winter 1944 maps some trees that are solid objects won't show up with the Forest=3 setting but they are there with Forest=2. Though the Westfront generics will display trees properly in these locations with Forest=3.

So, just something to consider. In case the issue is present in any other maps I went back to Forest=2 myself, just to make sure I can see everything.

DW


"In War: Resolution, In Defeat: Defiance, In Victory: Magnanimity, In Peace: Good Will" - Winston S. Churchill

Offline _AH_Nimble

  • Aces High Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1604
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2016, 09:39:52 PM »
I set mine for forest = 2 plus one birds nest
 :lol

Offline _AH_Hollywood

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1834
  • BBRRRRRRTTTT!!!!
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2016, 07:09:00 PM »
S! AH,

So I finally stepped up and got a new rig. 
Hello Windows 10 :help-sos-sos-29402:

Saying bye bye to my Radeon and DirectX for the past 6 years.

Hello Nvidia, OpenGL, perfect water and a 6GB video card

Safe to assume that the above thread config file will apply to me as well?

Forest 2 or 3 still a topic of discussion. 

Wood

"You sneaky little bastards aren't getting doodly sh*t from me, except maybe my name, rank, and Social Security number: Wood, Hollis P., Lumberjack, Social Security 106-43-2185."-Slim Pickens-The movie-1941

Offline _AH_Bear

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4294
  • R.I.P. August Never Forgotten
Re: Max settings?
« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2016, 11:49:48 PM »
Good job buddy ...